Review; Dinner at Laguna, Park Plaza

I was very excited to be invited to try the new a la carte menu at the Laguna Kitchen & Bar in Park Plaza this week.

Having eaten there before, I knew the food and service would be of a very high standard and I was assured that there would be plenty of vegetarian/pescetarian dishes for my non-meat-eating husband.

We arrived at the hotel at 7.30pm, so it was dark when we got there, making the hotel lobby with its huge log fire seem really inviting. The restaurant kept the same theme, with low-lighting and flickering candles making for a cosy, welcoming atmosphere. It also meant my pictures are a bit dark, so apologies in advance for this! 

To start we were offered bread from the bread basket – both of us opting for the delicious tomato bread – with a dish of olive oil and balsamic for dipping, yum.

For starters I went for the Trio of Butternut squash (£4.95); squash purée surrounded by cubes of roasted butternut squash and topped with a pearl las blue cheese mousse and butternut squash crisps. 

  
I was a little surprised that this was a cold starter, for some reason I expected it to be warm, but it was still delicious. The sweet squash was perfectly complemented by the cheese mousse, which was the best part of the dish. The squash crisps gave a nice bit of texture too.

Gavin went for the Thai fish cakes (£7.95), which he enjoyed.  

 
For main course I chose the Roast Monkfish Tail (£16.45); monkfish tail served on a bed of creamy saffron risotto, with Cornish crab, spring onions and tempura samphire.

  
The waitress said I’d made the right choice, as this was her favourite dish on the new menu and it didn’t disappoint. The monkfish was meaty with a very delicate flavour and the tempura samphire and spring onions added a lovely bite to the creamy risotto. 

Gavin went for one of the excellent choice of vegetarian dishes; Risotto with beetroot, cavolo nero and grilled halloumi (£13.95). 

  
He said it was delicious, although the creamy risotto was very rich indeed. This dish is also available as a starter for £7.45, which might have been a better way to eat it, as it was so rich.

The dessert menu looked amazing with dishes such as Turkish delight and vanilla creme brûlée, banana tart tatin, and warm Bakewell tart with cherries soaked in kirsch (all £5.95). In the event though, we were both so full that we could only manage the trio of ice creams (Gavin) and sorbets (me) each. When I said I was ordering sorbet for dessert, the waiter was really kind and enquired if I was lactose-intolerant, in which case he would recommend a dessert for me. I explained that no, I just like sorbet, but it was good to see they cater for allergies and intolerances. 

  
I went for two scoops of lemon and one of raspberry (£4.95) which came served with a chocolate and mini meringue and was lovely and refreshing.

We both finished with a peppermint tea, which is provided by Cardiff favourite Waterloo Gardens and a good way to finish a rich and satisfying meal. Overall we really enjoyed it and would recommend Laguna at Park Plaza, particularly for a special meal or event.

We were invited to try the new a la carte menu at Laguna, Park Plaza for free, in exchange for an honest review. 

Www.parkplazacardiff.com

The Park Plaza is also featured in my post; The Best Places for afternoon tea in Cardiff. 

3 thoughts on “Review; Dinner at Laguna, Park Plaza

  1. kacielmorgan October 5, 2015 / 12:40 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it! The fish looks amazing (well, it all looks pretty good really!) I recently attended Laguna for a bloggers event and the food was superb! I will be writing my blog post sometime this week 🙂

  2. redfacedbutrunderful October 6, 2015 / 1:23 pm

    Looks so yum! We need to find somewhere new and exciting for our next catch up! Suggestions? 🙂

    • Cardiff Girl October 6, 2015 / 4:11 pm

      It was delicious! I think our next catch up will be a post-baby Starbucks. But as soon asIm able lets do cocktails! 😊 X

Leave a Reply

