New Spring menu at Wahaca

Unless you’ve been living under a rock on a desert island you’re bound to have heard of Wahaca. The Mexican restaurant chain is the brainchild of Masterchef winner Thomasina Miers and in my opinion, one of the best chain restaurants around. I was so excited when one opened in Cardiff, as part of the St David’s 2 development a few years ago. I’ve been to this branch a few times and various other branches in London (with and without kids) and I’ve honestly never had a bad meal there. So when I was invited to try the new spring menu at Wahaca, I jumped at the chance!

We were starving when we sat down so ordered some tortillas with guacamole to eat (£4.45) while we perused the menu. The kids were with a babysitter so I also went wild (!) and ordered a classic margarita cocktail (£6.95). Wahaca does the best margarita in Cardiff. Believe me, I’ve tried a few.


Street food is what Wahaca does best – think Mexican tapas. I love it because you get to try loads of different things. Perfect if you’re a greedy guts like me. The Spring specials and new additions to the menu looked awesome and I was delighted to see that one of my favourite large dishes, the fish tacos, are now available in a smaller street food portion. 


In the end we went for; the new cactus and courgette tacos (£4.10) (these were amazing), the chorizo and cheese taco special (£5.50), summer pea and mint empanadas (£4.25), cod baja tacos (£5.50), chilli quesadillas (£3.95), crab and shrimp taquitos (£4.95) and a side of grilled summer corn (£3.95). Yes it was enough food to feed an army. Yes we ate it all. 

The cactus and courgette tacos and corn on the cob side were probably my favourite dishes, but it was all amazing and I’d eat any of it again. My mouth is actually watering writing about it. I couldn’t manage dessert, but a couple of good coffees and a square of chilli chocolate did the trick.


I love the atmosphere at Wahaca too – it’s the kind of place you can take kids or have a meal and a few drinks with friends. While we were there James Dean Bradfield, from the Manic Street Preachers came in for lunch and sat on the table next to us. If you’re interested he had a tortilla bowl salad. He seemed to enjoy it…..

Wahaca.co.uk

We were invited to try the food at Wahaca for free, in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “New Spring menu at Wahaca

  1. Cardiff Mummy Says August 13, 2016 / 1:30 pm

    One of my favourite places! Love it there, especially as they do so many vegetarian dishes. x

Leave a Reply

