Hot pod yoga

Yoga is my favourite type of exercise and we’re really spoilt for choice in Cardiff. There are so many different yoga classes on offer, you’re bound to find something you like. Saying that, I’ve yet to see an aerial yoga class in the area, please do let me know if you see one as I reeeeeally want to try it. 

Anyway! My current favourite form of yoga is hot yoga. The first hot yoga studio opened in Cardiff a few years ago and since then, more and more have popped up, proving just how popular it is among Cardiff yogis.

The newest offering is Hot Pod Yoga. 

The Pod, picture from hotpodyoga.com

The pod is basically a cocoon-like portable heated yoga studio, this one is situated at Cardiff Central Sports and Community Centre off Ocean Way (the old Virgin Gym).
The pod fits around 20 people, is heated to 37 degrees and promises an intense workout.
Picture from @hotpodyoga_cardiff on Instagram
Hot yoga is always going to be an intense workout, the constant 37 degree heat means your muscles are warmer, giving you more flexibility and enabling you to push yourself much harder than usual. You sweat loads too, which is said to rid toxins from your body. I don’t know if this is true but I always feel great and sleep really well after a hot yoga class.
Our teacher, Adell, was good – giving us a challenging flow with lots of variations and different postures thrown in. The class is said to be suitable for beginners, but I think someone completely new to yoga would’ve struggled a bit. 

What I really liked about Hot Pod Yoga was the pod itself. It was heated without feeling ‘sweaty’ – there was none of that moisture dripping down the walls that you often get in a hot yoga studio. And I noticed that the pod didn’t smell of stale sweat either – a definite plus! Because the  pod is dimly lit I felt I could really focus on my own practice without getting distracted by the other people. The purple lighting also made the pod feel calm and relaxed. 

Hot Pod Yoga also offers a ‘nurturing flow’ restorative class on Wednesday evenings, which I’d love to try next. 

You can read an older post about more of my favourite places to do hot yoga in Cardiff here

Hotpodyoga.com

I was invited to try a class at hot pod yoga for free, in exchange for an honest review. 

One thought on “Hot pod yoga

  1. clapal85 July 27, 2016 / 8:36 am

    Nofitstate used to do aerial yoga- not sure if they still do.

Leave a Reply

