Sing and sign – baby activities in Cardiff

Wow, the last few months have been BUSY. J has gone back to school (year one – how did that happen? Sob) Baby F has started nursery (she loves it), I went back to work (I’m also loving it), went on two holidays (a few days in West Wales and an awesome weekend in Disneyland Paris) AND we moved house (over to the other side of Radyr). Phew. 

Safe to say I’ve had a lot going on and I feel like I lost my blogging mojo for a while there. But now I’m back! And I’m always posting on Instagram if you want to follow me there….

So I’ve been meaning to write a post about Sing and Sign, a fab baby class F and I took while I was still on maternity leave. 

Between both children, I’ve tried A LOT of the various baby classes on offer in Cardiff and Sing and Sign is by far the best. 


Sing and Sign uses a mixture of British Sign Language and Makaton, along with songs, to encourage early communication.

I work with a number of deaf people and can use (very basic) sign language, so I know what a fantastic skill this is.

The classes are 45 minutes long and incorporate singing, pictures and puppets, all accompanied by signs and actions. The class finishes with a chance for the babies to play with the toys and interact. 


The teacher, Louise, was so lovely and F really enjoyed every single class. She loved the songs, was enthralled by Lou singing and very quickly she began to know the signs – especially the sign for ‘food’! It made it much easier to understand her needs, as most of the time she’s crying because she’s hungry (girl after my own heart). 


A few months on and we’re still using the signs at home and although F doesn’t sign back yet, she is constantly pointing at what she wants and is very vocal (‘dat! Dat!’ Is her favourite expression at the moment).

Sing and Sign costs around £55 for a full term. The new term has started but I’d definitely join the waiting list for next term, if you think you’d like to try it. 

If you’re looking for something to do with your baby in Cardiff, this would be my number one recommendation! 

I paid in full for our Sing and Sign classes and they were not aware I’d be blogging about them. 

Singandsign.co.uk

The lovely pictures in this post were taken by Ellie Rush photography. Thanks Ellie! 

Ellierush.co.uk 

One thought on “Sing and sign – baby activities in Cardiff

  1. Ali September 29, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    Aw we went to Sing and Sign classes with Lou too, she is amazing I was so sad when my little boy was too old!

Leave a Reply

