I ran the Cardiff Half!

What a day yesterday was! Along with around 20,000 other nutters I went for a 13.1 mile jog around Cardiff.

This time last year I was 38 weeks pregnant and could barely walk from my car to the office, thanks to a delightful pregnancy condition called Pelvic Girdle Pain. (Google it, its when the joints of your pelvis actually move apart. Ouch) But I watched the Cardiff Half marathon and said, “I’m going to do that next year!” My main motivation was to get fit after having the baby, but I also wanted to raise money for the fab charity I work for, Action on Hearing Loss Cymru, which supports people in Wales who are deaf, have hearing loss or tinnitus. 

As ready as I’d ever be….

So yesterday morning at 8am we dropped the kids off at my Mums and made our way down to Cardiff Castle. 

The weather was stunning – blue skies without a cloud to be seen. Perfect for spectators, maybe not so good for the runners though – despite all the water stops I was very dehydrated after and quite sunburnt too. 

Beautiful skies above the start line

The route took us from Cardiff Castle, along Penarth Road, into Penarth, across the Barrage (the views were absolutely stunning here) through the Bay, to Roath, around Roath Park lake and back into town for the finish line at the Civic Centre. 

The route was full of amazing volunteers cheering us on and the support was fantastic – especially in Roath where there were lovely people handing out sweeties, offering high fives and loads of singers and brass bands dotting the route. Shout out to the awesome vicar at Albany Road church, offering to pour water over anyone that needed it. What a star.

The crowds were definitely needed by me, as my knee (which had been playing me up through my training recently) decided to have a major spasm between mile 9 and 10. I was in agony for the last few miles, but the amazing support got me round. 

I finished with a chip time of 2.53, which included a stop to queue for one of the many portaloos along the route. My Strava time (which I paused for said toilet break) was 2.43. My main aim was not to stop, which I didn’t, so I was happy. 

I’m still wearing this medal

If you live in Cardiff this is one of those things you must do at least once. It’s a great way to see an alternative view of the city and the supporters were just fantastic. However, I can safely say that I’ll never do it again! I’ll stick to 5k at ParkRun from now on. 

If you want to sponsor me, visit my JustGiving page. Thank you! Now I’m off to ice my poor knee….. 

I paid in full for my entry to the Cardiff Half and organisers were not aware I’d be blogging about the event. 

3 thoughts on “I ran the Cardiff Half!

  1. The gym bug October 5, 2016 / 12:37 pm

    Well done on completing the Cardiff half! My boyfriend ran it as well so I was there cheering the crowds on. Such an amazing atmosphere there, almost tempted to sign up myself haha!

  2. Cardiffmummysays@gmail.com October 5, 2016 / 3:09 pm

    Wow, congratulations! Amazing to do that less than a year after having a baby. Good on you! Hope your legs are not too sore! X

  3. laurasidestreet October 16, 2016 / 4:02 pm

    Oh wow well done!!! Thats amazing, you must be really proud of doing this, I know I would be!

    Laura x

Leave a Reply

