Junior Parkrun and Cardiff 5k

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll see that we had an active Sunday over the bank holiday weekend. I ran the Cardiff 5k in Whitchurch on Sunday night and in the morning, my eldest ran Junior Parkrun. 

I’m a huge fan of the Parkrun concept, weekly volunteer-run 5k runs that are free to enter. And for younger runners there’s Junior Parkrun, every Sunday 9.30am at Llandaff Fields.

Junior Parkrun is a 2k course for 4-14 year olds, and adults can run along with them (no buggies allowed though). 

My eldest (who’s just turned six) has been taking part for a few months now and he absolutely loves it. As with the adult Parkrun it’s free to join, but you do need to register and print off a bar code beforehand. Here’s my Instagram story from the day;

I’m not always the spectator though, on Sunday night it was my chance to get active by taking part in the Cardiff 5k in Whitchurch. 

This is the second year the race has taken place and I definitely noticed an increase in both runner and spectator numbers.

The atmosphere in the village was brilliant and really made up for the horrible drizzle. 


The route took us from Whitchurch village, around Heol Don, into Llandaff North, past the library, over the horrible railway hill (known as Crown Hill to us locals in honour  of the old Crown Pub) and back to the village via the common. 

The end of the route was pure evil; even though you are in touching distance of the finish line it takes you around the corner for another couple of hundred yards, before heading back to the finish. I remembered this from last year so was prepared but there were a few runners around me who were fooled into thinking it was almost over! 

The start line of the Cardiff 5k in Whitchurch

I grew up in Whitchurch so loved running around my old stomping ground. There were plenty of familiar faces along the route and having my Mum and Dad cheering me on at separate points along the route was brilliant. 

I finished in 31 mins and was happy with that. I’m not speedy!

There was a great party atmosphere at the finish, with a live band, food and drink stalls and plenty of food and drink options open in the village to celebrate. A great way to spend a rainy bank holiday Sunday. 

I paid the full £15 for my entry to the Cardiff 5k and neither they or Parkrun Junior were aware I’d be blogging about them. 

3 thoughts on “Junior Parkrun and Cardiff 5k

  1. yummyblogger May 2, 2017 / 9:31 pm

    Good on you! I’d love to be able to run further than 500m! Well done, and sounds like a great event xx

  2. thehippychristianmum May 2, 2017 / 9:32 pm

    Well done what an accomplishment .The atmosphere looks great even though the weather is grey and drizzly.

  3. kerrylynnepyke May 2, 2017 / 10:22 pm

    Great piece about the Parkrun. The adult and junior runs are very popular where we live so we need to get along. Well done on your 5K.

Leave a Reply

